Posted by: signalhillarchaeology | July 15, 2009

Another Archaeology Convert…

Hello there! My name is Melissa Stanford and I am a 3rd year student at Memorial University, and I am so glad that I had a revelation about a year ago to switch my major to archaeology. I had no idea how much fun it could be!

Some of the 'fun' that can be had doing archaeology: wrestling stubborn sod from the ground to expose more of our stone features.

Some of the 'fun' that can be had doing archaeology: wrestling stubborn sod from the ground to expose more of our stone features.

But before I ramble on about un-important things, I should probably talk about the field school. For the first few weeks I worked at the North Range Barracks, and I got so attached I don’t want to leave. I did not expect how excited I would get about finding a shell casing or pipe stem. But every single time something pops up out of the ground I get excited and call Stephane over to look (which he does mockingly). It never ceases to amaze me that these artifacts are over 200 years old! Who would have thought soldiers in the early 19th century could be so interesting?

Another piece of two hundred year-old (or thereabouts) pottery from the midden at the North Range Barracks

Another piece of two hundred year-old (or thereabouts) pottery from the midden at the North Range Barracks

Another thing I did not expect, and the most important, were how awesome the people in the field school are. I still can’t believe how close we are after only 3 weeks of digging together. We spend all day together, then make plans to get together (for a much needed drink) later on in the night. It’s amazing how well we get along, and I love that I have actually made friends that are in the same faculty as me! So, thank-you Amanda for convincing me to do the field school, I owe you big time!! (Amanda notes: No problem, Melissa. Always glad to have another convert!!).

–Melissa Stanford (Student)

Leave a Reply

Categories

